Tuesday, 20 October 2015

Blog Tour: The Searcher by Simon Toyne - Review

Hi everyone! I hope you are all doing well. Today is the second stop on The Searcher blog tour! :D

The Searcher by Simon Toyne 

Publishing Date: October 6, 2015
Publisher: HarperCollins
Pages: 480 pages

The Premise: In the town of Redemption, Arizona, the townspeople have gathered to bury a local man named James Coronado. However, the ceremony is disrupted when there is a plane crash. There is a tall man, running towards the crash with no memory of who he is. All he is in his possession is a handmaid suit jacket with his name inscribed to him and a book as well. The name is Solomon Creed. Solomon believes that he has arrived in Redemption for one reason and that is to save a life. Unfortunately, that turns out to be difficult because the man he intends to save was the local man buried earlier in the day.

My overall thoughts and review: When Karen contacted me about this book, she first said that it was perfect for fans of World War Z, which is a book that I've loved for a while now. I instantly signed up and I wasn't sure what to expect with this book. It is the first book in a new series which follows Solomon Creed, so for a first novel, it is pretty enticing. The story is quite mysterious because the reader does not know who Solomon is and we are following along to learn more about him. But I think there is a type of mystery that lingers not just around Solomon, but the entire town of Redemption and the other characters. Toyne gives us some detail about the town and characters, but then pulls away, somehow making us ponder more about them. I quite like this style, because it makes for a pretty awesome reveal (Kind of reminded me of Oscar Wilde's style). I was constantly unsure of what to think of certain characters like Morgan and Solomon, and I'm really glad that the book surpassed my expectations for it (I won't get into detail because Spoilers!! and it is the first book in the series). What I particularly enjoyed was that the narrative went beyond the typical black and white structure of who is clearly good and clearly bad and this structure alternated multiple times throughout the text as the reader uncovered more and more secrets. Also have the present time narrative and excerpts of Riches and Redemptions throughout the book really helped the reader get a clear sense of the past and present. Overall, I thought that this was a wonderful mystery/suspense novel that incorporated many details such as themes of identity, religion and space and I can't wait to see where Toyne takes the series next! Also sidenote, but for fans of The Deadbeat Club by Dietrich Kalteis (which happens to be the book I was a book club leader for at this year's WoTS), this book definitely reminded me of it and I think you will enjoy this if you enjoyed that book! :)

My rating of the book:  (4/5 stars) 

Now available for purchase at: Chapters/Indigo

Also, I'm going to encourage you all add The Searcher on your 50 Book Pledge To Read Shelf because it is going to be the featured read of the week: http://50bookpledge.ca/ :)

Be sure to check out other stops on the tour: 
Mon Oct 19 – Jenn @ Lost in a Great Book 
Tues Oct 20 – Christine @ Padfoot’s Library 
Weds Oct 21 – Jaclyn @ Literary Treats 
Thurs Oct 22 – Andrea @ Cozy Up With a Good Read 
Fri Oct 23 – Michele @ Just a Lil’ Lost 

Disclaimer: I received an advanced reader's copy from HarperCollins Canada as a part of this Blog tour for consideration/review. All opinions are my own. 

No comments:

Post a Comment